Moyne Athletic Club retain the “John Flynn Perpetual Cup” for yet another year

The annual inter-club challenge took place in Moyglass on Tuesday night and well done to each and every one of the 45 athletes who competed. This is a club event rather than an individual event with all athletes getting points for the club no matter where they finish in their respective races/jumps/throws. At the end of the night and following some great competition the club came out on top to retain the “John Flynn Perpetual Cup” for another year. Our captain, Aisling Dwyer, accepted the cup on behalf of all of the athletes who were then presented with their medals. This is a very popular event and a great warmup for the County Track and Field Championships which take place over the next two weekends in Templemore. Those that represented the club were Liam Cleere, Isabella Jones, Molly Jones, Maria Doyle, Dearbhla Gleeson, Mairead Duggan, Orla Duggan, Sarah McGinley, Sean Boland, Oisin O’Gorman, David Doyle, Fred Power, Jimmy Campion, Frank Doyle, Finn Jones, Clodagh Gleeson, Caelan Ennis, Amy Reddan, Saoirse Doran, Una Duggan, Cormac Hynes, Killian McCormack Campion, Cormac Burke, Aaron Meakan, Ethan Walsh, Ava Ryan, Anna Daly, Tara Gleeson, Helen Cleere, Aoife Dwyer, Louise Hickey, Rachel Cleary, Aaron McLoughlin, Adam Jones, Jake Bowe, Brian Campion, Aine Duggan, Emma Gleeson, Katie Bergin, Keelan Smith, Aisling Dwyer, Aisling Hickey, Dillon McLoughlin, Aoibheann Duggan, Aoife Hynes.


For those athletes that were not present at the medal presentation they will receive their medal at training on Friday night. The cup will also be on display on Friday night and we also hope to get a club photo of the whole group who participated. Once again congratulations to all the athletes.


Many thanks to Moyglass AC for hosting the event and for the tea and bites afterwards and to the athletes from Moyglass, Moycarkey-Coolcroo and Coolquill who really put it up to us in the competition.