More photos here.

The County U/9 – U/12 Track & Field Championships took place on Monday in Templemore and despite the stiff opposition on display a number of our athletes made it to the winners’ rostrum.

Top of the list with two individual medals was Philip Hayes who finished a very close second in the Boys U/12 600mts having taken the lead midway down the back straight only to be overhauled in the final 50mts. Philip clocked a time of 1.54.04 for the distance. He also performed very well in the Long Jump to jump 3.86mts which was good enough to earn him the bronze medal.

Young Saoirse Doran, competing in a championship for the very first time, ran a terrific race in the Girls U/9 300mts. She kept with the leaders throughout and over the final 70mts it was neck and neck with a young Moycarkey athlete with both pushing hard for the victory. In the end just .18 of a second, the dip of a head, separated the two with Saoirse in the runner-up position and winning her first ever County medal.

Also competing for the first time at these Championships was Aaron Mouton Meakin and he showed his strength with a great throw of 12.79mts in the Boys U/10 Turbo Javelin to clinch the bronze medal.

Our final individual medal was Aoife Dwyer in the Girls U/12 Long Jump where she jumped 3.76mts to win the bronze medal in what turned out to be a very competitive event.

In the relays, which always prove very popular and competitive, just one of our teams managed to win medals. The Boys U/10 team of David Doyle, Cormac Burke, Ethan Walsh and Aaron Mouton Meakin finished very strongly to win the bronze medals.

Congratulations to all the above medallists on their performances but the club also had another 24 athletes in action and each of them gave their best in their respective events.

Most of our U/9 athletes saw action for the first time and one of the stand out performances came from Luke Walsh who finished fourth in the Boys U/9 Turbo Javelin just about half a meter away from the bronze medal.

Those that took part were Amy Reddan, Clodagh Gleeson, Caelan Ennis, Ellen McGonagle, Louise Hickey, Tara Gleeson, Helen Cleere, Adam Spillane-Leane, Frank Doyle, Fred Power, Orla Duggan, Mairead Duggan, Sarah McGinley, Anna Daly, Ava Ryan, Cormac Burke, Una Duggan, Bronagh McGonagle, Emma Leahy, Matt Walsh, Blake Walsh, Aaron McLoughlin, Jake Bowe.

All these athletes can now look forward to the County “B” Track and Field Championships on 24th May at a venue yet to be decided.