A great turnout of parents and athletes, juvenile and senior helped to make our awards night a success.  County cross country team medals were presented to the Boys U/12 (David Doyle, Cathal Guilfoyle, Lorcan Burke, Adam Phelan), Boys U/16 (Dylan McLoughlin, Gavin Ryan, Eanna Guilfoyle), Boys U/18 (Nathan Bowe, Bill Hogan, Michael O’Mahoney), Girls U/9 (Reiltin Morrissey, Ruth Phelan, Ciara Joyce, Eleanor Doyle), Boys U/13 (Aaron Moore, Aaron McLoughlin, David Doyle, Jake Bowe), Boys U/17 (Dylan McLoughlin, Michael O’Mahoney, Charlie Tobin), Girls U/9 B (Mairead Duggan, Olive Spillane-Leane, Laura Fogarty), Girls U/11 B (Blathnaid Lloyd, Maeve Leahy, Dearbhla Gleeson), Boys U/11 B (Jack Reddan, Jack Gleeson, Jack Flanagan), Girls U/13 B (Louise Hickey, Helen Cleere, Tara Gleeson), Boys U/13 B (Cormac Burke, Cormac Kiely, Liam Ryan).  Munster medals were also presented to Billy Gleeson (U/9), Aaron Moore, Jake Bowe (U/13), Emma Gleeson (U/15) and Nathan Bowe (U/17) who were all on victorious Tipperary teams at the Munster Cross Country Championships.  Our Girls U/11 team were also presented with their Munster Silver club medals and the successful athletes were Saoirse Doran, Alana Spillane, Dearbhla Gleeson, Blathnaid Lloyd and Orla Duggan while Lorraine Healy was presented with her Munster bronze medal as a successful member of the Tipperary team at the Munster Novice Cross Country Championships.

Following the medal ceremony the athlete of the year in both cross country and track and field for the U13 and U/14-19 age groups were presented.  These were being presented for the first time this year and all winners were fully deserving of their awards.  The winner of the U/13 cross country award was Alana Spillane who won the County U/10 cross country championship, finished 9th in the County U/11 cross country, 4th in the Munster “B” U/11 cross country and was a member of the U/11 Girls club team that won silver in the Munster “B” cross country championships.  Winner of the U/14-19 award was Nathan Bowe who was 1st in the Junior road, a member of the club U/17 team what won bronze at the All Ireland “B” cross country, 3rd in the County U/18 cross country, 3rd in the County U/19 Cross Country, a member of the U/18 club team that finished second in the County cross country, a member of the Tipperary U/19 cross country team that won bronze in Munster and a member of the Road Relay team that won gold.  Winner of the U/13 track award was Louise Hickey following her 2nd place in the County U/13 Indoor Shot and 3rd place in the County Track & Field in the 60mts hurdles, 80mts and 600mts.  Winner of the U/14-19 age group was Sean Burke who finished 2nd in the Munster Indoor Pentathlon U/17-18, 1st County Junior High Jump, 2nd County Junior 100mts, 2nd County U/17-19 Javelin, 3rd County U/17-19 400mts and Shot. 4th Munster U/17 High Jump, 5th Munster U/17 60mts hurdles, 8th Munster U/17 Long Jump, 7th Munster U/17 400mts, 5th Munster U/17 Javelin, 8th All Ireland U/17 Indoor High Jump and 5th in the All Ireland U/17 High Jump outdoors.  Congratulations to all four athletes on their awards.

Another two new awards this year was “Athlete of the Year” for both senior ladies and men. The ladies winner was  Lorraine Healy who had a successful year finishing 3rd in the Munster Indoor 1,500mts, 1st County Novice road, 2nd County Intermediate road, 3rd County Novice cross country.  Lorraine was also a member of the club team that won the County Novice road title, finished 2nd in the County Intermediate road, won the County Novice cross country title, won the County Road Relay and was a member of the Tipperary team that finished 3rd in the Munster Novice cross country.  The winner of the Senior Mens award was Stephen Flanagan who won the O/35 Indoor High Jump, finished 2nd in the O/35 1,500mts, 1st Munster Indoor O/35 High Jump and 4th All Ireland Indoor O/35 High Jump.  Stephen also finished 4th in the County Novice “B” road championships, was a member of the team that won the road relays, finished 10th in the County Novice cross country, won the County Novice “B” cross country, finished 5th in the O/35 county cross country and was a member of the club team what finished 3rd in the County Novice “B” cross country.

Our final two awards were the “Most Improved Athlete of the Year” and “Overall Athlete of the Year”.  96 athletes from the club won medals during 2017 and all were in the running for these awards.  In the end the “Most Improved Athlete of the Year Award” went to Brian Carroll. Brian finished 2nd in the County Indoor O/35 60mts and 400mts and also finished 3rd in the 800mts.  He also finished 2nd in the O/35 5,000mts at the County T&F and went on to Munster to finish 5th in the O/35 800mts.  He was member of the County Road Relay team what won Division 2B and was also on the club medley relay team that finished 2nd in the County T&F Championships.  Well done Brian on a great year.

The “Overall Athlete of the Year” was won by Sean Burke adding this award to his track award above along with the details of his many good performances during 2017.  Congratulations to Sean on his achievement.