61 people took to the road on Wednesday night last for the second round of the Burma Challenge. This was the cycle round and with various models of bikes on display from the vintage to the modern it livened things up for the team event. Brian Carroll led them home in 7.55 just a couple of seconds ahead of Richard Daly in 7.58. Adrian McGinley came through in 8.00 with Jack Moore next across the line in 8.18 closely followed by Craig Durnin in 8.20 and Paul Bowe in 8.25. Thomas Moore in 8.27 was just a second ahead of Mark Cummins in 8.28 who was a further second ahead of Paddy Doyle in 8.28. Filling the top ten was Jim Cummins in 8.33. Susan Fogarty and Deirdre Kearney were the leading ladies with just a second between them. Susan clocked 8.52 to Deirdre’s 8.53. Catherine Campion came through in 9.18 followed by Liz Power in 9.53. Ber Spillane and Patricia Ryan were the next to finish in 10.09 and 10.21 respectively. Catherine Britton and Lisa Quinlan battled to the line to finish in 10.37 and 10.38 while Patricia Cummins clocked 10.42 with Karen O’Driscoll on 11.05. Angela Brennan completed the top ten ladies in 11.20. Timekeepers and recorders were certainly kept on their toes with this one as just over 10 mins separated the first and last cyclist home whilst in between only seconds separated many of the group. Next Wednesday sees the handicap run with the results of the first night being reversed so that those at the end of the field get the chance to start first and those at the head of the field start last with hopefully everyone finishing more or less together.


Results of the team competition after the first two rounds are – 1 Moyneard 48.25. 2 Longorchard 49.18. 3 Moyne 49.37. 4 Kylemakill 52.32. 5 Killoran 52.53. 6 Rahealty 53.41. 7 Lisdonowley 53.59. 8 Castletown 54.00.           9 Cooleeney 56.29.  10 Moynetemple 56.34. 11 Derryfadda 57.35.             12 Boulabeha 59.51. 13 Manselstown 60.36.  14 Lisheen 61.12.


Teams are as follows: Longorchard-Liam Kelly, Ber Spillane, Patricia Ryan, Karen O’Driscoll, Martin Flynn. Moyneard-Jack Moore, Liz Power, Jim Cummins, Catherine Campion, Sharon Kiely. Manselstown-Paul Bowe, Diarmuid Molumby, Eamon Hayes, Peggy Eviston, Pauline O’Connell. Derryfadda-Richard Daly, Catherine Dunne, Kieran Britton, Claire Doyle, Evelyn Cornally. Castletown-Brian Carroll, Harry Hogan, Deirdre Kearney, Della Hunter, Patricia Cummins. Killoran-Paddy Doyle, Ger Brennan, Seamus Concagh, Ann Brennan, Billy Treacy. Moyne-Patrick Bowe, Mark King, Aisling Maher, Tom McGrath, Martin Campion. Moynetemple-Roisin Daly, Ray Power, Sharon Cantwell, Bernie McGrath, Karen Kiely. Rahealty-Philip McBain, Tim Doyle, Susan Fogarty, Breda Moore, Arlette Phelan. Cooleeney-Adrian McGinley, John Hogan, Naomi Morrissey, Eileen Hackett, Aoife Campion. Lisdonowley-Mark Cummins, Craig Durnin, Sinead Tynan, Anna Ryan Teresa Everard. Kylemakill-Thomas Moore, Bill Hogan, Lisa Quinlan, Catherine Britton, Kay Flynn. Lisheen-Niall Moore, Nathan Bowe, Sean Lloyd, Esther Hogan, Paul Phelan. Boulabeha-Edmond Hayes, Mary Quinlan, Bee Hayes, Maura Murphy, Henry Cummins.