Friday night last saw the staging of this year’s Inter Club Challenge on the track with the club hosting the event and both Moycarkey-Coolcroo AC and Moyglass AC adding to the fixture.  53 athletes from the club took part which was a huge representation and many thanks to all who turned up and competed. 

This event is a club challenge so all athletes compete as a team with no individual winners.  Points are awarded based on finishing places and the club with the most points are the winners.  This year must have been the most competitive and closest fixture since it started with just two points separating first from third.

Fortunately for the club it was our athletes who came out on top with a score of106 points.  Moycarkey-Coolcroo finished second on 105 points with Moyglass third on 104points.  Nathan Bowe accepted the “John Flynn” Perpetual Cup from the Chairman Paddy Doyle on behalf of all the club athletes.

A special word of thanks to both Moycarkey Coolcroo and Moyglass for their attendance.  Many close finishes were the order of the night and there should be very keen competition at the County Championships if some of the races on the night are anything to go by.

Thanks are also due to the ladies for organising the refreshments and to all the parents who donated same.  The event also ran extremely efficiently and thanks to all who helped out at the various competitions.  The rain held off but the cold wind played havoc nonetheless all who were there enjoyed the event and hopefully we will see the competition continuing next year.  The club members who took part were Isobel Jones, Maria Doyle, Cormac Burke, Frank Doyle, Fred Power, Oisin O’Gorman, Matt Walsh, David Doyle, Ethan Walsh, Luke Walsh, Blaithnaid Lloyd, Ellen McGonagle, Alina Keogh, Ciara Loughnane, Maeve Leahy, Jake Bowe, Aaron McLoughlin Danny Moore, Aaron Moore, Adam Jones, Philip Hayes, Blake Walsh, Eva Cornally, Tara Gleeson, Ava Ryan, Anna Daly, Louise Hickey, Helen Cleere, Rachel Cleary, Aoife Dwyer, Victoria Lupton, Emma Leahy, Bronagh McGonagle, Armand Schoeman, Charlie Tobin, Dylan McLoughlin, Jack Lupton, Emma Gleeson, Cathy Hogan, Aisling Hickey, Aisling Dwyer, Katie Bergin, Jack Hickey, Patrick Campion, Sean Burke, Niall Moore, Nathan Bowe, Lorcan Troy, Emma Dunphy, Lorna Hayes, Grace Moore, Muireann Lloyd, Niamh Ryan, Roisin Daly.