2nd Place

3rd Place







Another year down and another successful Burma Challenge completed.  The final night took place last Wednesday with the running of the relay where all five members of their respective teams ran legs from 500mts to 1,600mts to finish out the event.  There was movement on the leader board but not at the top where Ballyerk, Ballyduff and Boulabeha have dominated things over the four nights.  Despite the best efforts of both Ballyduff and Boulabeha in the relay they were unable to overhaul Ballyerk who were duly crowned 2017 champions.  The winning team with a time of 1.43.27 was Seamus Concagh, Nicola O’Mahony, Cha Duggan, Breda McNamara and Martin Kiely.  Second place went to Ballyduff on 1.45.08 with Pakie Bowe, Ray Power, Aoibheann Duggan, Brian Kelly and Leona Doyle the team members.  Third place went to Boulabeha on 1.46.31 and the members of this team were Nathan Bowe, Jim Cummins, Deirdre Kearney, Alan Shanahan and Bernie Lowe.  While there may have been minutes between the top teams this was not the case for the other 8 teams where five of them were separated by just hundreds of a second and two finished exactly with the same time.  For the record Longorchard were on 1.49.06, Rahealty 1.50.10, Moynetemple 1.51.18, Lisheen 1.51.23, Kylemakill 1.51.32, Moyneard 1.51.46, Lisdonowley 1.52.01 and Moyne 1.52.01.  The family challenge went to Roisin and Richie Daly on 82.45 followed by Aoibheann and Cha Duggan on 100.16 and Liz and Ray Power on 103.17.  Hats off to John Flynn for co-ordinating the teams and organising the event and to Mark, Eileen, Kathleen, Eibhlis, Martin, Tony and Aisling for their timing, results and refreshments.