BoulabehaCooleeney Boulabeha Rahealty Moyneard Moyne Kylemakill Killoran Derryfadda

The final night of the Burma Challenge kicked off on Wednesday last with the relay event taking place over the 5k route.  The distances varied in each of the legs with athletes running 500mts, 700mts, 1,000mts, 1,200mts and 1,600mts.  Athletes were selected for each of the distances based on their times, performances and ability over the previous weeks so everyone got a chance to impress on the final night.  Once the starter set them on their way, the competitive instinct took over with each athlete giving it their all for their team.  First to finish were Cooleeney with a time of 18.26 closely followed by Moyneard in 18.33.  Next across the line were Kylemakill in 19.15 quickly followed by Derryfadda in 19.30, Killoran in 19.39 and Rahealty in 19.47.  Moyne came through next in 20.02 with Boulabeha finishing in 20.04 and Moynetemple 20.16. 

The leaders after four nights were Moyneard who had nearly a minute and a half to spare over Derryfadda with Cooleeney a further two minutes approx. behind that again.  While Cooleeney made a bold bid for victory they could make no inroads on the leaders and though securing victory on the night they were unable to make up sufficient time to overhaul Moyneard who also held off the challenge mounted by Derryfadda.  In the end Moyneard finished on 315.03 with the victorious team made up of Nathan Bowe, Tom Flahive, Henry Cummins, Liz Power and Naomi Morrissey.  Derryfadda held on to second on 317.49 with Brian Carroll, Lisa Quinlan, Ray Power, Tom McGrath and Pauline O’Connell representing them.  Cooleeney came third on 318.37 and their members were Mark Cummins, Tim Doyle, Michelle Percy, Francis Power and Muireann Lloyd.  Fourth place went to the Moynetemple team of Seamus Concagh, Thomas Moore, Breda McNamara, Aisling Maher and Lorraine Kelly on 321.57 with Rahealty fifth on 322.08 and the members here were Jack Moore, Sharon Kiely, Jim Cummins, Jennifer Cummins and Catherine Dunne.  Sixth place went to Kylemakill on 324.21 and this team was made up of Liam Kelly, William Crone, Frances Long, Roisin Daly and Patricia Cummins with Moyne in seventh on 324.30 and representing them were Harry Hogan, Sinead Butler, Sharon Cantwell, Niamh Morrissey and Della Hunter.  Boulabeha finished eight on 325.10 with Killoran ninth on 325.30.  Boulabeha was made up of Richard Daly, John McLoughlin, Ber Spillane, Samantha Bowe and Teresa Everard while on the Killoran team were Niall Moore, Nicola O’Mahoney, Sinead McLoughlin Ashley Dann and Claire Doyle.  The top three teams were presented with trophies as were the winners of the family challenge where five families contested for the trophy.  In the end the power of Roisin and Richard Daly won through finishing on 98.46 ahead of Sinead and John McLoughlin on 116.20.  Third place went to Liz and Ray Power on 130.29 followed by Claire and Tim Doyle on 137.14 and Patricia and Jim Cummins on 134.52.

Many thanks to everyone for their efforts and commitment over the five weeks.  It is you who make the event a success.  Thanks also to all involved in organising and running the event and to our caterers and those who supplied the biscuits and cakes.  They were certainly enjoyed by all.