The club are hosting our 3rd autumn 5K Fun Run/Walk on Sunday 17th September at 12 noon over our usual Burma Route.  Entry fee is €10 with refreshments served to all afterwards.   96 athletes took part in the first year with 110 toeing the line last year so hopefully we will see another increase in participation this year.  An interesting point is that the winners of the men’s race over those two years, Mick Traynor, Raheny Shamrocks, Dublin (2015) and John Treacy, Thurles Crokes (2016) both ran the exact same time of 16.26.  In the ladies event Carmel Fitzgibbon, Thurles Crokes won in 2015 with a time of 18.48 while Linda Grogan, Dundrum won in 2016 crossing the line in 19.03.  Local athletes Liam Kelly, Kate Harrison and Lorraine Healy have all been amongst the prize winners in previous years and again there is a realistic chance that more of our local athletes can feature this year.  We encourage all club athletes, junior and senior, to take part and support the club.  Local support is also encouraged so if you can walk, jog or run we would love to see you on the day.