2015_5k Winners2015_5k Results_Ladies










Click here for 10K Results                 Click here for 5K Results

Usually the first day of June heralds the start of summer but this year the heavens opened and the wind roared but it did not deter the near 300 brave souls from taking part in our 5k and 10k fun run/walk. We are very much indebted to these people for supporting us and indeed to all those who were in any way involved in the running of the event which was a great success.

On the competitive side of things the 10K race produced another record with Kevin Maunsell, Clonmel AC showing a clean pair of heels to the rest of the field including the record holder Luke Forde of Dunboyne. Kevin crossed the line in 32.07 with Luke second in 32.44, both dipping under the current record of 32.48. Declan Moore, Bilboa AC finished third in 33.38 followed by Danny Smith, Ballynonty AC in 34.17. Fifth place went to Kevin Moore, Dundrum (last year’s winner) with a time of 35.56 while Gavin Lynch, Roscrea finished sixth in 36.51. Seventh place went to Dermot Hayes, Dundrum AC on 37.01 with Pat Ryan, Ballynonty just 9 seconds adrift in 37.10. Local man, Liam Kelly, Templetuohy finished ninth in 37.43 just yards ahead of 10th man Sean Percy, Templemore AC who finished with a time of 37.49.

Katie Harrison of Errill, Co. Laois was a clear winner of the Ladies race crossing the line in 42.27. Kate Kennedy, Templemore AC finished second in 43.52 followed by Laura Armstrong, Dundrum in 44.36. Fourth lady across the line was Brigid Gleeson, Moyne AC in 47.05 just three seconds ahead of club mate Sarah Healy in 47.08. Brid Quinlan, Upperchurch finished sixth in 47.35 just three seconds ahead of Nicola Maunsell, Clonmel in 47.38. Eileen Ely, Thurles Crokes finished eighth in 47.59 with ninth place going to Kathleen O’Meara, Borrisoleigh Track Attack with a time of 48.37 and making it into the top ten ladies was Siobhan Murphy, Clonoulty who finished in 49.40.

The club also hosted a 5k Fun Run/Walk for the first time and it was the young athletes who headed the field with Luke Herke of Templemore AC leading home the field with a time of 18.02 followed by Jack Moore, Moyne AC in 18.44 with another Moyne AC athlete Harry Hogan third in 19.22. John F. Kennedy of the Borrisoleigh Track Attach finished fourth in 19.49 while Eoin Troy of Moyne AC finished fifth in 19.58 with twin brother Eamonn sixth in 20.11 while Louis Everard, Moyne was next across the line in seventh with a time of 20.12. Nigel O’Gorman, Thurles was the next male across the line in 20.45 while Tadgh Vaughan, Coolquill finished in 21.44 with Jim Cummins, Rahealty making into the top ten male finishers with a time of 22.51.

Phil Ryan, Ballynonty AC was the first lady home in 20.16 and finished eighth overall with Susan Fogarty, Moyne AC the second lady home in 22.22 followed by Collette Murray, Thurles Crokes in 23.02. Una Crowley, Thurles Crokes was fourth lady home in 24.45 closely followed by Ita Teehan, Urlingford who was timed at 24.48. Emma Doyle, Moyne finished sixth lady in 25.17 with Denise Teehan, Gortnahoe next in 25.44. Eight place went to Dolores Kennedy, Templemore AC in 26.02 followed by Helena Loughnane, Gortnahoe in 26.26 with Ester Lowry, Holycross finishing in the top ten ladies with a time of 26.35.

Amongst the local athletes taking part in the 10k were Richard Daly (38.20), Paddy Doyle (40.49), Brian Carroll (41.22), Brian Kelly (41.25), Patrick Bowe (41.35), Noel Daly (43.57), Thomas Moore (44.01), Seamus Concagh (46.17), John Lloyd (46.17), Cathal Ely (46.36), Katie Tobin (49.52), Caroline Dunne (51.19), Liz Power (51.46), Catherine Dunne (51.50), Aisling Maher (52.58), Lisa Quinlan (52.58), Ber Spillane (54.05), Deirdre Kearney (54.53), Sharon Cantwell (55.41) and Jacinta Wagner (56.29).

Amongst those taking part in the 5k were Pierce Ryan (23.08), Phil Bowe (25.12), Dietmar Wagner (26.12), Francis Kennedy (26.19), Breda Moore (27.58), Anita Gleeson (28.20), Fergus Moore (29.26), Mary Quinlan (29.35), Claire Doyle (29.35), Teresa Everard (29.48), Arlette Phelan (31.41), Aine Guilfoyle (32.58), Mary Doherty (32.58), Shona Fogarty (34.13), Niamh Moore (35.41), Helen Quinlan (35.48), Bridget Ryan (36.10), Jack Ryan (36.10), Aoife Moore (37.35) and Mary Campion (42.49).

Again a huge thanks to all those who took part and as many who were there can bear witness to the ongoing track re-development they can be assured that all monies raised will be used to pay for this work.

Our thanks also to all the stewards, some who had a tough day in the elements, the kitchen staff who fed and watered everyone, the lead cars, the Order of Malta, those taking the entries and keying in the data, to John Moore on the microphone, to Niall Sullivan on the timing and to everyone who had any part to play in making the day a success.