ladies mini marathon winners - Carmel Fitzgibbon, Thurles, Dympna Ryan, Dundrum, Margaret Danagher, Templemore

mens mini marathon winners - Shane Mullaney, Thurles, Danny Smith, Ballynonty, Fintan Rice, Fethard







Ladies:  Marie Fitzgibbon (2), Thurles, Dympna Ryan (1), Dundrum, Margaret Danagher (3), Templemore
Men: Shane Mullaney (2), Thurles, Danny Smith (1), Ballynonty, Fintan Rice (3), Fethard

Top Class run from Danny Smith with Record Breaking run for Dympna Ryan at Moyne 10K

Monday 3rd June saw approximately 300 runners, joggers and walkers take part in the Moyne Mini Marathon held in ideal weather conditions.  From the first to the last everyone enjoyed the occasion and whilst the front end of the field was concerned with times and positions many who jogged and walked were delighted to achieve the distinction of completing a 10k, some for the very first time. 

A the head of affairs Danny Smith, Ballynonty set the pace from the gun and continued to drive forwards despite the best efforts of Shane Mullaney, Thurles Crokes, Kevin Moore, Dundrum, Fintan Rice, Fethard and Paddy Cummins, Moycarkey.  Such was the power of Danny that he headed the field throughout to come home a deserved winner in a time of 33.51.  Shane Mullaney held on to second place in a time of 34.45 with Fintan Rice edging into the top three with a time of 35.24.  Fourth place went to Kevin Moore in 36.01 with Paddy Cummins fifth in 36.46.  The next male home was Mark Daly from Ennis who finished 7th in 37.32 with Terry Ryan, Tallaght AC ninth in 37.42.  Brendan Kinnane of Dundrum finished 10th overall in 38.30 just 2 seconds ahead of the first local man home, Jody Sweeney who finished with a time of 38.32.  Making the final place in the top ten men was Tony O’Neill, Dunboyne who finished 12th overall in 39.17. 

While the men were to the fore the ladies were not far behind with Dympna Ryan, Dundrum and Margaret Danagher, Templemore running stride for stride and it was only in the latter stages of the race that Dympna forged ahead to finish sixth overall and first lady home in 37.04 to smash the course record by some four and a half minutes and earn herself a bonus prize for same in addition to her winners prize.  Margaret finished very strongly in second place in a time of 37.33, also well inside the course record and in the process finished 8th overall.  3rd place went to Marie Fitzgibbon, Thurles Crokes in 26th overall in 41.42 with Martina Ryan, Thurles Crokes 4th lady home in 42.33 for 29th place overall.  Sandra O’Keeffe, Mullinahone finishing 35th overall was 5th lady to cross the line in a time of 43.34 while Carmel Fitzgibbon, Thurles Crokes finished 6th lady in 44.23 and 40th place overall.  Orla Healy of the host club finished 50th overall in 46.24 to finish 7th lady while just behind in 52nd place was Michelle Maher of Thurles in 46.54 – 8th lady to finish.  9th position in the ladies race went to Paula Mills of Holycross in 47.02(53rd finisher) while making into the top ten ladies was Clair Phelan of Galmoy 55th in 47.48. 

While the above were in the top ten of their categories there were plenty of more in the race and amongst them were Brian Slattery, Killenaule, Michael Coote, Moycarkey, Sarah Fogarty, Cashel, Pauline O’Meara, Toomevara, Siobhan Carey, Drombane, Clair Mockler, The Ragg, Eleanor MacBain, Borrisoleigh, Chris McDonnell, Dunboyne, Michelle Lanigan, Dungarvan, Maura Doyle, Rossestown and Mary O’Dwyer, Latteragh.