Munster Senior and Masters Indoor Championships

The great start to the New Year continued for the club on Sunday when our two representatives, Lorraine Healy and Stephen Flanagan, competing at the Munster Indoor Championships in Nenagh came away with individual Munster medals.

Having captured the County O/35 title in the High Jump a couple of weeks ago Stephen went even better on Sunday when capturing the Munster title in the same event.   Despite the pressure of the competition he maintained his form to equal his personal best with a leap of 1.60mts to secure the title.  Well done Stephen on an excellent performance.

For Lorraine, it was a run into the unknown, as she hasn’t competed at this level for a number of years but great credit is due to her on a magnificent performance.  Competing over 7 laps of the indoor arena Lorraine was very much in the hunt for medals and a really strong finish saw her capture the bronze medal while in the process also posting a personal best time of 5.06.06.  Congratulations Lorraine on a wonderful performance.

Both athletes can now gear up for the National finals with the Seniors taking place on 19th February in the new indoor arena in Abbotstown, Dublin and the Masters taking place on 5th March in either Athlone or Dublin.

New Year 5k Run

The club are organising a New Year 5k run on Sunday 29th January at 12 noon.  Cost of entry is €10 with prizes for the first three men and three ladies.  This is the third year of the event with approximately 200 people taking part over the past two years.  Last year’s winner William Maunsell, Clonmel clocked a time of 15.14 with Sharon Cleere of Gowran winning the ladies section in 19.16.  The run is around the usual 5k Burma Route which is a relatively flat course and is an ideal preparation for those looking at competing in the forthcoming road season.  However, this should not discourage the fun runner/jogger or walker as everyone is welcome and there will be plenty of refreshments available on the day.

Tipperary Athletics Awards Night

Saturday night in the Horse & Jockey Hotel brought further honours to the club for 2016 when our juvenile athletes secured the trophy for “Best Juvenile Cross Country Club “ for the third year in a row while also winning the trophy for “Best Juvenile Indoor Club Group 2” for their performances at the County Indoor Championships.  These two awards are a great tribute to the dedication and success of our juveniles at competition within the County and each and every athlete is to be congratulated on their part in these successes.

Our ladies made 2016 a year to remember for the club with success at Road and Cross Country but yet another award came their way on Saturday night when the cup for “Best Overall Ladies Club” at the County Senior and Masters Track and Field Championships was presented to the club for their excellent performances in Templemore.  This was a great combined effort by all the ladies who took part and fully deserved for their fine athletic performances on the day.

Adjourned AGM

The adjourned AGM will be held on Wednesday 18th January at 9pm to consider the appointment of a third Child Protection Officer and some Committee members along with a discussion on a number of issues that arose at the AGM. We hope to see all members there.

Club Lotto

Congratulations to Phil Bowe, Alana Spillane and Mick Reddan winners in the club lotto this week.  Many thanks to everyone for their continued support of the club.

Munster Indoor Pentathlon Championships

This championship took place in Nenagh on Sunday with both Sean and Cormac Burke representing the club.  Sean competed in the Boys U/17-18 age category and following the completion of the five events – 60mts, Shot Putt, High Jump, Long Jump and 800mts he finished in second place to win the Munster silver medal.  This result followed on from personal bests in both the long jump where he leaped to 4.99mts and the Shot Putt where he threw 9.18mts.  Well done Sean on a great start to the New Year.  For Cormac it was his first outing at this event and level of competition and against some tough competitors in the Boys U/12 category he did exceptionally well in all events to finish 10th overall.  Well done Cormac.

Munster Junior Indoor Championships

Our lone representative in this event was Jack Hickey who competed in both the 60mts and 200mts.  Jack finished 5th in his heat of the 60mts in a time of 7.79 secs narrowing losing out on a place in the final by just .08 of a second.  He finished 8th in the final of the 200mts in 25.05 secs and again was just marginally short of a podium finish.  Well done Jack on two fine performances.

Annual General Meeting

The club held its Annual General Meeting on Friday night last before a good attendance.  Following some very extensive reports from the Officers, in particular the Secretary, Chairperson and Treasurer, the election of officers took place with everyone remaining in-situ for another term.  A further meeting will be held on Wednesday 18th January at 9pm to consider the appointment of a third Child Protection Officer and some Committee members along with a discussion on a number of issues that arose at the AGM.

The officers for 2017 are: President-John Flynn, Vice Presidents-Jim O’Meara, Thomas Flynn, Sean Hayden, Fr. Murphy, Fr. Kennedy. Chairperson: Paddy Doyle, Vice-Chairperson: Richard Daly, Secretary-Mark King, Treasurer-Elaine Flynn, PRO-Eibhlis Purcell, Competition Secretary-Geraldine Hickey, Registrar-Sinead McLoughlin, Recorder-Eileen Ryan, Child Protection Officers-Liz Power, Sinead Tynan, A.N. Other, Designated Liaison Officer-Sinead Tynan, Complaints Committee-Mark King, Imelda Flynn, Paddy Doyle, Appeals Committee-Sinead Tynan, Rosemary Cleere, Kathleen Maher.

A vote of sympathy was passed at the meeting to the families of all our members and friends who passed away during 2016.

New Year 5k Run

The club are organising a New Year 5k run on Sunday 29th January at 12 noon.  This is the third year of the event and hopefully can be as successful if not better than the two previous events.  The run is around the usual 5k Burma Route and is an ideal preparation for the forthcoming road season.  Everyone is welcome to run, jog or walk on the day.  Usual prize fund applies along with refreshments for everyone afterwards.

Track & Field Fixtures

15th January – Munster Senior/Masters Indoor Championships – Nenagh

04th/05th February – Munster U/9-U/12 Indoor Championships – Nenagh

25th/26th February – Munster U/13-U/19 Indoor Championships – Nenagh

04th March – County U/13-Junior Indoor Championships – Nenagh

05th March – County U/9-U/12 Indoor Championships – Nenagh

Moyne AC Lotto

Follow Us On Facebook


Random Club Images

Our Club Website. Quality Websites at an Affordable Price